- Aboitiz Eyes - http://aboitizeyes.aboitiz.com -

AP subsidiaries Davao’s top taxpayers in 2017

Harvey Lanticse | March 15, 2018

The Davao City Government recently recognized AboitizPower subsidiaries Therma South, Inc. (Therma South) and Davao Light and Power Company (Davao Light) as its top taxpayers for 2017.

Davao City acknowledged Therma South as its top real property taxpayer while it gave a citation to Davao Light as its top business taxpayer last year.

The local government gave the awards during the recognition ceremony dubbed as “Pasidungog: Garbo sa Dabaw 2018” held on March 12, 2018 at the Davao Convention Center in Davao City.

Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio lauded the support of the city’s top taxpayers for contributing to the growth and development of the city.

“This recognition is important because it serves to remind us that Davao would not be what it is today without Davaoeños and their friends helping each other,” Mayor Duterte said in her opening remarks.


From our top taxpayers whose contributions are really translated to better services for the people, to the members of volunteer organizations who put their safety on the line during disasters, to professionals working to improve public–you all exemplify the best of the Davaoeño.

– Hon. Sara Duterte-Carpio, Mayor, Davao City 

Therma South Vice President and Plant Manager Valentin S. Saludes III said they are humbled by the recognition the Davao City Government has given them.

“We remain committed to being one of the city’s strong partners in development, aligned with our vision of advancing business and communities,” Saludes said.

Therma South owns and operates the 300-Megawatt Davao Baseload Power Plant located in Binugao, Toril, Davao City. It is the first power plant in Mindanao to utilize the Circulating Fluidized Bed (CFB) technology. TSI is also certified in three ISO standards, namely Quality Management, Environmental Management, and Occupational Health and Safety Management.

On the other hand, Davao Light is the third largest electric distribution utility in the Philippines. Its franchise area covers the cities of Davao and Panabo as well as the municipalities of Carmen, Dujali, and Santo Tomas.