Banking and Financial Services

CitySavings recognizes outstanding partner schools with ‘Handog Pasasalamat’

In concluding its year-long celebration of its 50th anniversary, CitySavings honored our country’s cultural heritage and modern-day heroes who support nation building with an event themed “Handog Pasasalamat”. It was attended by 104 partner schools, 27 of which were awarded as the top school contributors in areas where CitySavings branches are located.

Held at the Radisson Blu Hotel last October 23, the gathering highlighted the value of teachers both as customers and partners and for being a significant part of the bank’s success.

CitySavings President and CEO Catalino Abacan delivered his welcome remarks in pure Filipino: Sa mundo ikaw ay tinuturing bilang isang guro lamang subalit sa mata ng inyong mga mag-aaral ikaw ay isang bayani. Kami sa CitySavings ay may kahalintulad ding pananaw sapagkat kami ay naniniwala na sa inyo nakasalalay ang ikauunlad ng ating bansa.

UnionBank Chairman and CEO Justo Ortiz together with members of the CitySavings Board headed by Chairman Eugene Acevedo, the CitySavings management team, and branch and regional business heads were all present to lend support to the program.

The evening’s highlight, handing the awards to the top partner schools, was headed by JAO, Chairman Acevedo, and the CitySavings Board Directors Ana Aboitiz-Delgado, Romy Ronquillo, Carlos Valarao and Dr. Tess Dumalanta. They were joined by Dr. Amelia Biglete, Commission on Higher Education’s Director of the Office of Programs and Standards Development, and Dr. Margarita Ballesteros, Director of the Department of Education’s (DepEd) Director for Partnerships and External Linkages, in congratulating the institutions.

DepEd’s Regional Directors and representatives were also called on stage to present the awards and congratulate their respective ‘home’ schools. These were:

  • Ms. Dominga Lim (Region 1)
  • Dr. Estela Cariño (Region 2)
  • Dr. Soraya Faculo (Cordillera Administrative Region – CAR)
  • Dr. Lorna Dino (Region 4B)
  • Dr. Ramon Fiel Abcede (Region 5)
  • Dr. Ma. Gemma Ledesma (Region 6)
  • Dr. Juliet Jeruta (Region 7)
  • Dr. Ramir Uytico (Region 8)
  • Dr. Allan Farnazo (Region 10)
  • Atty. Alberto Escobarte (Region 11)
  • Dr. Arturo Bayocot (Region 12)
  • Dr. May Eclar (Region 13)

Luz Macairan, principal of Samar National School, summed up the spirit of the evening with a heartwarming message on behalf of all the awardees: “Your company is a blessing to us. This award symbolizes our good relationship and looking forward to more fruitful years to share. May God bless you more para marami pa kayong matulungan. Mabuhay ang City Savings Bank!”

DepEd Director Dr. Margarita Ballesteros closed the program also with a message saying: “CitySavings, at this point, for 50 long years, the journey may not have been easy. You have partnered with DepEd in particular and I have seen how CitySavings contributed to the 24M students in the Philippines and at the same time touching the lives of our teachers. For 50 years, I wish you all the best! We thank you from the Department of Education (DepEd). To the teachers, principals and regional directors who are here, let us take the challenge to live a simple life and do good to our brothers and sisters who are need.”