Kaubans toast outgoing CEO Nap Pe at movie-inspired RN

Casino Español in Cebu City was transformed into scenes from the silver screen as Kaubans from Mandaue, Balamban, and Manila project sites and other guests decked out in costumes from favorite movies for the Aboitiz Construction Group’s Recognition Night 2016.

“We celebrate the kauban spirit and commitment to the success of Aboitiz Construction,” Chairman Jim Aboitiz (JJA) said as he acknowledged this year’s service awardees and retirees who treated the company as their second home. He also led a special tribute to ACGI President and CEO Nap Pe who will be retiring at the end of the year. (Watch video of JJA’s tribute)

“You can be extremely proud of your accomplishments, as well as those of the company under your leadership. You have very successfully guided and honed the skills of everyone in the company into a cohesive team extremely focused on ensuring successful project execution for our customers and the company.”  (To watch JJA’s full speech, go to

Mr. Alberto A. Ignacio, Jr. was also formally introduced as the company’s new interim Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer who will later on assume Mr. Pe’s role.

Vice President for Operations Jonathan A. Bendebel welcomed everyone to the ‘Hollywood Filmfest’, thanking everyone for sharing their talents.

The evening was also filled with team performances, individual awards, project awards, as well as recognition for suppliers, service providers, subcontractors, other business partners.

Following are the 31 service awardees and retirees:

For 10 years: Joselito Baldoman, Julius Cartahenas Sr., Noel Carwana, Aquillesa Chan, Sherwin Coquilla, Jose Jimmy Estomago, Dinah Gabrillo, Anabel Jaluag, Philbert Manso, Liza Montargo, Camilo Pleños, Juanito Radin Jr., Florence Rin, and Jerry Villarin.

For 20 years: Danilo Baro, Garlito Baruc, Ernesto Cantila, Edison Carreon, Josephine Florentino, Alexander Lariosa, Samuel Lastimosa, Judailin Pacada, Charlie Pardillo, Napoleon Pe Jr., Erwin Ponce, and Ruel Velasco.

For 25 years: Irvin Camingawan, Marcelo Cena, Prudencio Pulgo, and Rodelo Torres.

For 35 years: Arturo Canga.

Retirees: Socrates Aredidñon, Anecito Dela Rama, Gonzalo Lapus, Arnulfo Lumayag, Nelson Magbanua, Nestor Mejares, Romulo Panta, Eugenio Pulvera, Edgardo Quiseo, Reynaldo Siega, and Felix Tura.

Recognized as Best Managed Project was Davao International Container Terminal, Inc. in Panabo, Davao, managed by Celso P. Montargo.

Individual special awards went to Aquillesa Chan, KC Love Cong, Niña Mercy Coquilla, Rich Daño, Deneb Genabe, Michael Gumagay, Glena Paquibot, Clement Pepito, Atty. Ria Lidia Espina, Noreen Bejaron, Ronald Nuñal, Vic Sandonval, Tsadde Lloyd Tejado, Raul Valmoria, Josephus Bayo, Deonito Capao, David Dumaguit, Alex Navales, Juanito Radin Jr., Christopher Rodriguez, Glenn Arvin Watin, and Roy Espinosa.


Note: Kauban is the local term for team-mate.  It signifies people working together to achieve more.